Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsVideosLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsRankingsLucky Letcord PodcastMagazine

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve


Isner: ATP Is A Broken System

By Erik Gudris | Thursday, February 25, 2021

Former Miami Open champion John Isner took to Twitter to respond to the news that this year’s event will have a significant drop in overall prize money—and slam the ATP as "a broken system" for the inequity.

Isner, the 2018 Miami Open champion, posted several Tweets on his account regarding the news that this year’s tournament will decrease prize money by over 50 percent for players.

More: Federer, Osaka Headline Miami Open Field

The former world No. 8 asserts the current ATP tour system is “broken” and advocates all tournaments undergo an audit to reveal exact financial status. Isner, the 2019 Miami runer-up to Roger Federer, said the pro circuit is “plagued by conflict and lack of transparency" and run "like an intramural sport." 

The Miami Open, in an accordance with ATP baseline prize money policy for 2021, has slashed its prize money significantly. The tournament will award both men’s and women’s singles champions $300,110 total, which is far less than the $1,354,000 offered in 2019. Round One losers at this year’s event will receive $10,000.

It's a trend that has been happening across the tours as the pandemic has forced many tournaments to be held behind closed doors or with a significantly reduced spectator pool.

The 2020 Miami Open was cancelled due to the ongoing pandemic. This year’s event, scheduled for March 22 through April 4, expects to host fans on-site at about 20 percent capacity.

The tournament entry list, announced today, features world No. 1 players Novak Djokovic and Ash Barty, reigning champion Federer, second-ranked Rafael Nadal, Australian Open champion Naomi Osaka, 23-time Grand Slam champion Serena Williams. 

For more information, please visit

Photo credit: Lindsey Godwin/Miami Open