SUBSCRIBE TO NEWSLETTER!
 
 
Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsVideosLive ScoresTV ListingsTalking GearTournamentsRankingsLucky Letcord Podcast

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve

 



He didn’t have to, but he did.

During the first set of his 7-6(4), 7-6(5) loss to Adrian Mannarino in Miami on Sunday, Stan Wawrinka earned himself this week’s Tim Smyczek Sportsmanship Award when he allowed Adrian Mannarino to replay a point after the umpire had incorrectly stopped play, ruling that the Frenchman had hit the ball after it bounced twice.

More Miami: Rafa Vows to Conquer Nerves on the Clay

The call was wrong, but it didn’t change the fact that Wawrinka had earned himself the point by basically pulling Mannarino into the stands with his forehand-volley combo.

But the Stanimal marches to the beat of his own drummer, and it’s one of the reasons why fans love him so much. Listen to the applause he gets when the umpire announces the decision.

It was a nice move by Stan, and even if it might have been a bit too generous, it made us love him all the more.

Posted: