Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsBlogsLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsVideosInstructionRankingsPlayersPodcastsMagazine

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve


Fabio Fognini and Aljaz Bedene were already having a heated battle in Rio on Friday. Then things got weird.

With Bedene about to return serve on a break point while trailing 3-1 in the deciding set, the Slovenian noticed a ball kid scurrying behind him and caught Fognini’s serve, expecting a let to be called. But umpire Nico Helwerth ruled that the serve counted, erasing Bedene’s break point and giving Fognini the momentum to take the final three games of the match.

In the aftermath of the call an enraged Bedene pleaded his case to no avail—perhaps Helwerth was already upset with him due to an earlier run-in at a changeover.

Fognini went on to clinch the 6-7(3), 6-3, 6-1 victory and the players shook hands after the match—but Bedene did not shake the umpire’s hand.