Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
MagazineNewsBlogsLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsVideosInstructionRankingsPlayersPodcasts

By Chris Oddo | Thursday, August 7, 2014


Jo-Wilfried Tsonga ended a four-year run of futility against Novak Djokovic in Toronto, stunning the world No. 1, 6-2, 6-2.

Photo Source: AP

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga ended a four and a half year and 18-set run of futility against world No. 1 Novak Djokovic in Toronto on Thursday, shocking the seven-time Grand Slam champion, 6-2, 6-2.

Video: Monfils' Strange, Fabulous Highlight Reel Against Djokovic

The victory is Tsonga’s first since the 2010 Australian Open, when Tsonga defeated Djokovic in five sets to reach the semis.

“I brought the fighter onto the court today,” said Tsonga, who celebrated his victory with a little post-match shadow boxing, before firing balls into the cheering crowd.

The Frenchman, who entered the match with 11 straight losses and having dropped 18 straight sets against Djokovic, saved the only break point he faced, and connected on all four of his break point opportunities to move up a double-break in each set.

Djokovic, playing only his second match since winning Wimbledon, seemed to be out of focus from the onset. After managing four backhand winners against 26 backhand unforced errors in his three-set victory over Gael Monfils on Wednesday, Djokovic wasn’t much better from that side today. He finished with only one backhand winner against Tsonga, against ten unforced.

Tsonga advances to face Andy Murray in the quarterfinals. Murray advanced when Richard Gasquet pulled out due to an abdominal strain.

Notes, Numbers>>>

Djokovic wasn’t the only upset victim on Thursday. Third-seeded Stan Wawrinka dropped his second straight decision to Kevin Anderson, 7-6(8), 7-5.

Djokovic fell before the quarterfinals for the first time at the Rogers Cup in eight appearances.

Djokovic was bidding to become just the third player to win 20 Masters 1000 titles. Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer are the only two to have done it.


Latest News