Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button
NewsVideosScoresRankingsLucky Letcord PodcastShopPro GearPickleballGear Sale

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve


Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini celebrated a double milestone capturing the Australian Open doubles title.

Contesting their ninth Grand Slam tournament together, the Italian duo defeated France's Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut 6-4, 6-4 in the final.

More: Mahut Drills Herbert in Head with Serve

It is the first time an Italian team has won a men's Grand Slam doubles title since Nicola Pietrangeli and Orlando Sirola raised the 1959 Roland Garros championship.

"[To] do this with Fabio is unbelievable. I think we did something amazing," Bolelli said. "Maybe we didn't realize what we made today, but maybe tomorrow we're going to realize better. For our nation, for our Federation, for the people follow us, who support us, all Italian people, I think we made a very good things."

The Italian tandem snapped a 56-year title drought and Fognini experienced a career first: Officials apologized after chair umpire Carlos Ramons missed a double-hit by Mahut in the opening game of the second set.

Mahut struck a forehand volley twice and the ball plopped over the net. The Italians immediately protested to Ramos and though the play occurred right beneath his seat, the chair umpire did not rule a double hit.

"We were right. I mean, the umpire make the unbelievable mistake," Bolelli said. "He realize it after, but after was too late."

Fognini, who has had his share of volatile run-ins with officials in past singles matches, said the tournament supervisor apologized after viewing a replay of the controversial point and seeing the Frenchman had committed a double-hit.

"Even if he make a mistake, he recognize after. The first time happen in my life," Fognini said. "Sometimes I have the problem with the chair umpire. "They saw the video later. The supervisor, he say to me I was right. So I am happy. One of the first time that he say that."

Asked if the admission of error and subsequent apology meant almost as much as winning the title, Fognini replied: "No. But I'm happy he recognize this mistake. This one for sure is a big thing from the chair umpire, for sure."