Facebook Social Button Twitter Social Button Follow Us on InstagramYouTube Social Button Follow Me on Pinterest
NewsVideosLive ScoresTV ListingsTournamentsRankingsLucky Letcord PodcastMagazine

Popular This Week

Net Notes - A Tennis Now Blog

Net Posts

Industry Insider - A Tennis Now Blog

Industry Insider

Second Serve - A Tennis Now Blog

Second Serve


By Chris Oddo | @TheFanChild | Tuesday, January 4, 2021

The field is set for the 2021 ATP Cup, with 12 four-player teams set to battle for the trophy on February 1-5 in Melbourne.

14 of the ATP’s current Top 15 are currently set to compete at the 12-team event. Qualification is based on the ranking of each country’s tp-ranked singles player, while Australia qualifies thanks to a host wild card.

This year’s ATP Cup will take place at Melbourne Park alongside two ATP 250 events, with the three tournaments being held the week before the Australian Open.

Tennis Express

The draw will take place on 20 January, when the 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three for group stage, round-robin play. The four group winners will advance to the semi-finals.

Here are the teams, and the four committed players from each:


Novak Djokovic
Dusan Lajovic
Filip Krajinovic
Nikola Cacic


Rafael Nadal
Roberto Bautista Agut
Marcel Granollers
Pablo Carreno Busta


Dominic Thiem
Dennis Novak
Philipp Oswald
Tristan-Samuel Weissborn


Daniil Medvedev
Andrey Rublev
Aslan Karatsev
Evgeny Dosnkoy


Stefanos Tsitsipas
Michail Pervolarakis
Markos Kalovelonis
Petros Tsitsipas


Alexander Zverev
Jan-Lennard Struff
Kevin Krawietz
Andreas Mies


Diego Schwartzman
Guido Pella
Horacio Zeballos
Maximo Gonzalez


Matteo Berrettini
Fabio Fognini
Simone Bolelli
Andrea Vavassori


Kei Nishikori
Yoshihito Nishioka
Ben McLachlan
Toshihide Matsui


Gael Monfils
Benoit Paire
Nicolas Mahut
Edouard Roger-Vasselin


Denis Shapovalov
Milos Raonic
Peter Polansky
Steven Diez


Alex de Minaur
John Millman
John Peers
Luke Saville

About the ATP Cup Format:

Each tie will be comprised of two singles matches and one doubles match. The country that wins two matches will win the tie. Every country will be guaranteed to play two ties in the group stages. Singles will be best-of-three tie-break sets. Doubles will feature No-Ad scoring and a Match Tie-break in lieu of a third set.

About the Order of Play at ATP Cup:

There is a day session and an evening session each day. The No. 2 players will play first in each tie, followed by the No. 1 players, with the doubles to follow. All doubles matches will be played regardless of whether the tie is decided after the two singles matches except if the final is decided after the two singles matches. In that event, the doubles will not be played.